Top Home
Florida Gay Rodeo Association
First posted Apr 2, 2015
Last update Jan-20-2020

Association Histories

Taken from the FGRA website April 2, 2015

The Florida Georgia Rodeo Association is an incorporated entity in the State of Florida. FGRA was organized and launched in 2005. Below is an outline of some of the significant events in FGRA's history.

January 2005

Todd Garrett and Bryan Hodges have a conversation over the hood of Todd's truck at Todd's ranch in Myakka Head, Florida in regard to why there was no gay rodeo in Florida.

February 2005

Todd Garrett begins researching and making contacts in Florida and with IGRA.

March 2005

A packet containing research from Carl Davis, Cowboy Luke and Cowboy Dan is received containing research from the 1998 formation attempt.

April 8, 2005

A decision is made to do an informal survey of persons in attendance at Country Western weekend at Sawmill Campground later in the month and get their thoughts on a gay rodeo association for Florida.

April 13, 2005

Original email address for FGRA is formed.

April 18, 2005

Cowboy Dan creates first poster to be posted at Country Western Weekend.

April 23, 2005

Todd Garrett, Bryan Hodges, and Clint Hummon travel to Dade City and meet Cowboy Luke and Cowboy Dan in person. Informal survey along with sign up sheet for persons interested in assisting is obtained. Out pouring of support is overwhelming and somewhat unexpected.

April 24, 2005

Decision is made to move forward with the formation of a rodeo association.

April 25, 2005

Cowboy Dan submits four logo designs for consideration.

April 26, 2005

Steering committee consisting of Todd Garrett, Bryan Hodges, Cowboy Luke, Cowboy Dan, Carl Davis, Scott Kelly, and Jack Early put in place.

April 29, 2005

Sunshine Stampede is chosen for the name of the rodeo. Other names that were suggested were Sea 2 Sea Rodeo, Hurricane Roundup, and Cracker Rodeo.

May 1, 2005

Cowboy Dan secures domain name and begins work on website.

May 3, 2005

FGRA By-Laws and Guidelines finalized and approved by steering committee. FGRA Mission Statement drafted. Original FGRA Logo approved.

May 4, 2005

Membership Application completed.

May 5, 2005

The FGRA web site is launched.

May 6, 2005

FGRA Founding Officers Seated:

May 12, 2005

First press release announcing FGRA is sent out.

May 20, 2005

FGRA, Inc is incorporated in the State of Florida as a Not for Profit corporation. Paperwork submitted to IGRA.

May 27, 2005

Carl Davis appears on behalf of FGRA at the IGRA Board Meeting at the Oklahoma City rodeo requesting IGRA recognition of FGRA.

IGRA recognized FGRA as the 23rd Member of IGRA. Sunshine Stampede Rodeo is placed on IGRA schedule for Spring 2006.

June 2, 2005

Todd Garrett, Bryan Hodges, Cowboy Luke and Carl Davis meet with IGRA President Brian Helander and IGRA Secretary Larry Lindstrom in Orlando at Gay Days.

June 3, 2005

First Official Board meeting takes place at Courtyard Marriott in Orlando.

June 30, 2005

First issue of The Corral published.

June 17, 2005

FGRA membership reaches 50.

July 24, 2005

Randy A and Tom S “Stacked Wrangler's place at GGRA's Southern Spurs Rodeo and become the first FGRA members to place at an IGRA Sanctioned Rodeo.

September 20, 2005

FGRA membership reaches 100.
(Founding members are considered first 100 members.)

October 2005

Sunshine Stampede Rodeo Round Table Formed.

April 7-9, 2006

Inaugural Sunshine Stampede Rodeo held at Bergeron Arena, Davie, Florida.

April 9, 2006

FGRA Membership reaches 200.

June 17, 2006

FGRA Annual Meeting held in Orlando, Florida.

First elections held:

April 13-15, 2007

Second Sunshine Stampede Rodeo is held at Bergeron Arena in Davie, Florida.

June 2007

FGRA Annual Meeting held in Tampa, Florida.

Elections held:

November 2007

FGRA member Linda Lee receives IGRA Woman Rookie of the Year.

April 4-6, 2008

Third Sunshine Stampede Rodeo held at Bergeron Arena, Davie, Florida.

May 25, 2008

Wolf Keller wins All Around Cowboy Buckle at Liberty States Rodeo in Philadelphia. First FGRA member to achieve this award.

June 21, 2008

FGRA Annual Meeting held in Davie, Florida.

Elections held:

FGRA members approve the addition of a Royalty Program to the FGRA Bylaws.

FGRA receives association Platinum sponsorship from Scandals Saloon, Wilton Manors, FL.

November 2008

FGRA handles registration at IGRA Finals Rodeo. FGRA member “Little Hoss” receives the IGRA Rookie of the year award.

February, 2009

GGRA (Georiga Gay Rodeo Association) disbands. FGRA places GGRA members on FGRA membership list in order to allow them to compete for the remainder of the year. These memberships have no voting rights.

March 30-April 4, 2009

FGRA hosts Gay Country Western Cruise.

April 3-5, 2009

Fourth Sunshine Stampede Rodeo held at Bergeron Rodeo Grounds, Davie, Florida.

June 28, 2009

FGRA Annual Meeting held in St. Pete Beach, Florida.

Elections held:

Member at Large changed to Director at Large - Membership. Board expanded by the addition of Director at Large - Sponsorship, and Director at Large - Communications and Marketing.

Members presented with approved FGRA Royalty Program.

Members request that Sunshine Stampede Rodeo be moved around the state.

Membership is 398 (includes honorary members from GGRA).

November 2009

Vice President Mitch Gill resigns.

January 2010

Mike Fontenot is temporarily appointed Vice President.

January 23, 2010

First FGRA Royalty Competition held at Flamingo Resort, St. Petersburg, Flordia.

April 16-18, 2010

Fifth Sunshine Stampede Rodeo Held at Bergeron Arena, Davie, FL.

September 2010

FGRA Annual Meeting held in Davie, Florida.

Elections held:

November 2010

Todd Garrett, Mr FGRA 2010 becomes Mr IGRA 2011 2nd Runner up in Reno, NV, becoming first FGRA Royalty member to gain a spot on the IGRA Royalty Team.

January 22, 2011

FGRA Royalty Competition held at Flamingo Resort, St. Petersburg, Florida.

April 8-11, 2011

Sixth FGRA Sunshine Stampede Rodeo held at Bergeron Rodeo Arena, Davie, Florida.

May 2011

Voni Whittaker appointed as Rodeo Director for 2012.

June 2011

Mike Fontenot resigns as Vice President then two weeks later Carl Davis resigns as President. By rules of succession, Gaither Pennington becomes President.

September 18, 2011

FGRA Annual Meeting held in Davie, Florida.

October 9, 2011

FGRA member Tim Mohle received the 2011 IGRA Rookie of the Year award.

January 2012

Gaither Pennington and Bobby Fender call for Royalty competition to be cancelled.

March 2012

Bruce Hoyt appointed as Secretary.

April 20-22, 2012

Sunshine Stampede Rodeo held at Bergeron Rodeo Arena, Davie, Florida.

August 2, 1012

Voni Whittaker reappointed as Rodeo Director.

September 30, 2012

FGRA annual meeting held in Orlando, Florida.

Gaither Pennington, President; Bruce Hoyt, Secretary; and Jim Powers, Treasurer do not attend the annual meeting thus abandoning their office.

Elections held:

October 2012

The following appointments were made:

Board discusses postponement of the 2013 Sunshine Stampede Rodeo.

Bobby Fender resigns as Trustee.

November 2012

James Young is appointed Trustee.

January 2013

Carl Davis, FGRA Founding Secretary and President 2008-2011 loses his battle with cancer.

February 23, 2013

FGRA's first Town Hall meeting is held in conjunction with a Carl Davis Memorial BBQ and Bonfire at the Lonesome Oak Ranch in Myakka Head, Florida.

June 2013

RJ Frank resigns as Secretary. Dan Kelleher is appointed as Secretary.

September 28, 2013

FGRA Annual Meeting is held at Flamingo Resort, St. Petersburg, Florida.

Elections held:


The 2014 Sunshine Stampede was the last rodeo held in Florida under the FGRA association name.


The Florida Gay Rodeo Association desolved in 2017. At the 2017 IGRA Convention, a new association, Suwannee River Rodeo Association, covering Florida, is seated.

Association Histories